WILLIAMSBURG-One of Colonial Williamsburg’s landmarks is scheduled to be relocated soon.
On August 8, Colonial Williamsburg will continue the process of moving its windmill from its current location near the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation Visitor Center to a new site at the intersection of Francis Street and Bucktrout Lane.
The 28,000-pound mill house, the body of the windmill, will be moved starting at 6am. Colonial Williamsburg decided to relocate the landmark to a new interpretive site to improve access to the windmill and offer a more engaging experience for guests when it comes to 18th-century farming.
Earlier this spring, the windmill’s sails, tailpole, the trestle, and the king post, were moved to the new site. The mill house is the final piece to be relocated.
Colonial Williamsburg’s windmill was first constructed in 1957. The windmill is based on the 1636 Bourn Mill in Cambridgeshire, England. It was originally located behind the Peyton Randolph House and has been behind the Visitor Center since 2010.