HAMPTON—On Saturday, November 6 from 10am to 3pm, there will be an open house and fundraising event for Hampton Streetcar 390. The event will be held at 57 Patch Road in Hampton, which is on Fort Monroe.
Visitors can view the Peninsula’s last remaining streetcar and speak to the dedicated volunteers bringing an iconic part of the region’s past back to its former glory, as well as learn how to get involved in the restoration project. The event is free and open to the public.
According to the project’s Facebook page, the 390 ran in Hampton and Newport News between 1917 and 1945. In 1946, it was purchased and moved to York County where it was made into a home for the next 30 years.
In 1977, the Baltimore Streetcar Museum acquired the 390 and it was moved to Baltimore, Maryland for restoration. However, the renovation never occurred, and the Baltimore Streetcar Museum asked if Hampton would like the streetcar back.
The event on November 6 will help to raise funds for the restoration project. Interested parties can come out and watch the on-going restoration process. There will be a raffle as well as items for purchase, including logo t-shirts and signed copies of the 390’s history book.
For additional information, visit the 390’s event page.